Molly Hadfield


Darebin International Women's Day 2024

We will celebrate our residents who have been awarded an Australian honour and hear from the recent recipients. 

Date: Wednesday 10 April 2024  

Time: 6pm - 8.00pm, followed by refreshments 

Price: Free
Access: This event will be Auslan interpreted and wheelchair accessible.  For any other access requirements please get in touch prior to the event onL
Bronwyn Ryan-Mercer
Phone:  8470 8551


Guest Speakers: Leanne Miller AM & Professor Julie Andrews OAM 

MC: Mary Crooks AO 

Mayor Cr. Susanne Newton on behalf of Darebin 

Part of Darebin’s Multi-Arts FUSE Festival, we are proud to celebrate International Women’s Day in Darebin 

Celebrating and remembering Darebin resident Molly Hadfield OAM, who worked tirelessly to campaign for tenants and women’s rights.  

A partnership between Darebin's Equity and Wellbeing team and festival & Events FUSE Team in celebration of International Women’s Day (IWD) 2024. 


The Molly Hadfield Social Justice Oration has been held annually by Darebin City Council for the last ten years. A tribute to remember Darebin resident Molly Hadfield OAM, who worked tirelessly to advance women’s and seniors rights, whilst also celebrating International Women’s Day.   

The 2024 iteration will feature a keynote speech/s by Mary Crooks AO, Leanne Miller AM & Professor Julie Andrews OAM  

The Australian honours system is how we recognise, celebrate, and say thank you to those who make a difference, those who achieve their best and those who serve others. Australia has a system of honours and awards to recognise excellence, achievement and meritorious service or contributions to our society. This International Women’s Day we are, Celebrating Woman in Darebin, with two of our newly awarded meritorious recipients. Leanne Miller AM and Professor Julie Andrews OAM, with special guest MC and moderator for Q&A Mary Crooks AO Executive Director, Victorian Women’s Trust 

Leanne, Julie, and Mary join Molly Hadfield OAM, who was also a meritorious recipient. Molly received an OAM, the Officer of the Order of Australia, for her advocacy and work in the Community. 

Leanne Miller AM: Leanne was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia AM in 2023, for her significant service to women’s affairs, and to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.\

Professor Julie Andrews OAM: Julie was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia OAM in the Kings Birthday 2023 Honours list for outstanding contribution to Indigenous studies, to First Nations communities and for her unwavering commitment to cultural education. 

Mary Crooks AO: In June 2012, Mary was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia, for her distinguished services to public policy and advocacy for the advancement of women. That same year, Mary authored A Switch In Time – Restoring Respect to Australian Politics which has been distributed widely across Australia. 

Event & ticketing details



Accessible Toilet
Wheelchair Access
Auslan Interpreted

Dates & Times

Wednesday 10 April - 6pm - 8.00pm


Preston City Hall

284 Gower St, Preston VIC 3072

Get directions


Preston Station


Routes 552, 553