Suburban Vintage - Wine Makers of Darebin

Laki Sideris, 2021

A suburban winery beyond the doorstep. The labour and the joy. Characters and stories.

Award-winning Darebin photographer Laki Sideris visited regular entrants in Darebin’s amateur homemade wine competition at home. He hoped to illuminate the personalities of these talented makers and honour their traditional skills.

The result is beautifully atmospheric work that is part portraiture and part documentary. Comprising short multimedia works and a striking series of still portraits, this exhibition celebrates the link between wine, culture and the migrant experience.

LAKI SIDERIS

Laki Sideris has presented his work in solo and group exhibitions throughout Australia including the Centre of Contemporary Photography, Yarra Ranges Regional Museum, Gold Coast Art Centre and Tweed River Art Gallery. He was twice featured artist at Sydney’s Head on Photo Festival. He has been a finalist in numerous awards including the Moran Contemporary Photographic Prize CCP Documentary Photography Award, Josephine Ulrick Photographic & Win Schubert Award and Olive Cotton Award for Photographic Portraiture.

Event & ticketing details

Accessibility

Wheelchair Access

Dates & Times

Saturday 20 March 2.00pm-8.00pm
Wednesday 24 March 9.00am-8.00pm
Thursday 25 March 9.00am - 8.00pm
Friday 26 March 9.00am-8.00pm
Saturday 27 March 12.30pm-8.00pm
Wednesday 31 March 10am - 6pm
Thursday 1 April 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 6 April 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 7 April 10am - 6pm
Thursday 8 April 10am - 6pm
Friday 9 April 10am - 6pm
Saturday 10 April 10am - 6pm
Monday 12 April 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 13 April 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 14 April 10am - 6pm
Thursday 15 April 10am - 6pm
Friday 16 April 10am - 6pm
Saturday 17 April 12.30pm - 8pm

Location

Darebin Arts Centre

401 Bell Street, Preston VIC 3072

Get directions

Train

Mernda Line (get off at Bell Station, a further 5 minute walk)

Tram

Route 11 (get off at stop 40, a further 10 minute walk) / Route 86 (get off at stop 45, a further 10 minute walk)

Bus

Route 513 (Get off at corner of Bell Street and St Georges Road, a further 2 minute walk) Route 903 (Get off at corner of Bell Street and St Georges Road, a further 2 minute walk)
Presented By
Major Partners